Motion detection not very great

Purchased and installed a 3 cam system, moved cameras and tried different mounting positions with similar results. Do the cameras not pick up motion very well directly towards them? Any help is appreciated!

Wow, have same issue, surprised no reply yet to your issue…Like you, just trying to get some help. If you found solution, please advise!

Like most pir,s the cameras detect motion better from side to side .Just re position the cameras so they are not pointing directly at the area to cover

This is not only a Blink thing, it is most brands of cheap motion detection sensors. Study how and why a PIR sensor works. PIR is actually what the motion detector sensor is. It senses reflected infrared heat. That reflection is typically related with motion. The reflection can’t be directly at the sensor.

Thanks for all the replies, I’ll try repositioning and see how it goes! :beers:

Hi. I am a retired military mechanic
I also love to learn about technology.
When i was installing my cam system. I read that the cams do not pick up motion well straight on. There is a reason for this and its with in the cam lens and the program that blink uses to detect motion.
So aim your Camara to point left or right slightly to what is the focal point ie. My truck i park it generally in the same spot. Its my truck the cam will tell has motion for me its the cover on my bbq that’s on my front deck. Or its a stupid cat walking around near my truck. You can adj the sensitivity and then pick what areas to avoid detection. So for me i ask the camera to not see the bbq. Because this cam is my front door i get alot of alerts. I also aim the cam while i view it. This helps to get the thing u want to protect off center of the lens view ie my deck stairs are right in the center of the lens my bbq is off to the right of center. My truck. Is always off center to the left aiming this way will help detect what u want to see when u need to see it.
I hope this helps
Tim