Mobile app suggestions and complaints

I’m a software engineer, so I tend to view things from that perspective (QA, UX, efficiency, etc) and don’t make excuses for how things currently work, so take that for what it’s worth. But a few things about the mobile app that need improvement:

1. There’s a disconnect between the notifications and the currently running app (which is a very common problem with most mobile apps). If I have the app open and receive a notification about a new clip, tapping on the notification won’t show the clip. It does nothing. Whether the app is open or not, if I tap on the notification it should do the same thing every time. The only other option is to shut the app down every time a notification comes in and then tap on the notification to let it open the app back up.

2. When the app is open on the video list and a new video comes in, it doesn’t show in the list. The only way to see any new videos is the swipe down 4 TIMES (the 1st swipe never does anything, the 2nd scrolls the list to the top, the 3rd refreshes the list, and the 4th moves the list back to the top again where the new clips are). If the list is open, and a notification about a new clip comes in, the list should auto-refresh itself and add the new clips to the top.

3. The Full screen button requires 3 TAPS to work when you select a clip. The 1st tap does nothing, the 2nd changes the color of the full-screen button, and the 3rd tap actually opens it full screen. Grr

4. The app does not allow an easy way to scroll through a video frame-by-frame or to pause on a certain frame. If you try dragging the progress bar while it’s paused, it jumps around and skips past several seconds at a time. And it’s impossible to pause a running video at a precise moment. Just like the other issues above, the app forces you to tap multiple times on the video player to get it to perform functions. This is really annoying. To pause a playing video requires either 2 or 3 taps every time.