Interesting they updated all the local storage info in help over the last week or 2…
Local Storage FAQ
What is Local Storage?
Local Storage is a Blink feature allowing a Sync Module 2 to save imagery from Blink camera systems onto your personal USB drive between 1GB and 256 GB in size.
How does Local Storage Work?
When your system is attached to a Blink Subscription Plan or free trial
Your clips are stored in the Cloud and Clip Backup is enabled by default. This provides a once-daily download of new motion clips and recorded Live View sessions from the Blink Outdoor, Indoor (gen 2), and Mini cameras. You access Clip Backups by Safely ejecting the USB drive and inserting in your computer.
When your system is not attached to a subscription
Local Storage saves motion clips directly to your USB drive. These clips are viewable in the Blink app, where you can also share or delete them. Viewing motion clips from your USB drive through the Blink app can take longer than when you view clips from Cloud Storage. Your clip’s loading speed is affected by the Wi-Fi network upload speed where the system is installed.
Sync Module 2 Local Storage Operation
How to use Local Storage
Blink allows you to save clips onto your own USB drive inserted into a Sync Module 2.
- The USB drive must be from 1 GB to 256 GB in size.
- The USB drive must have more than 375 MB of free space.
- If needed, you are asked permission to reformat the drive when it is first inserted.
Your Primary Storage Type changes how the USB drive operates
Cloud Storage from a Free Trial, or purchase of a Blink Plus Plan subscription:
- The Sync Module 2 saves all new clips in a once-daily Cloud Backup on the USB drive.
- The most recent backup time is shown in the Blink app under the Sync Module’s “Local Storage” section.
- To view or delete clips, you must move the USB drive to a computer.
- Cloud Backup can be turned off in the Camera Settings screen.
Local Storage when the camera system is disconnected from any subscription or Free Trial.
- Camera system imagery is saved directly to the USB drive in a Sync Module 2.
- Motion clips from up to ten Blink Outdoor, Indoor (gen 2), Mini, and XT2 cameras are saved.
- Local Storage clips are viewable in the Blink app Clip List.
- Clips can be deleted from the USB drive using the Blink app.
- Live View sessions can be viewed but not saved.